I’m at home, flying solo today, as the OH is with family at the Funeral Directors sorting out the paperwork for my father in law’s cremation and interment in a Chapel of Rest.

I have to say, on a wild weather day like today, I’m glad I’m at home, doing 5 loads of laundry, and not involved in anymore paperwork. I never thought that trying to bury/cremate the dead would be so lengthy, complicated (unnecessarily so) and accompanied by so much damn paperwork. And don’t get me started on the hidden costs of literally everything.

Certifying a will? A will that was already written and co-signed in the presence of a Notary, and registered still has to be further verified by paying yet another notary to see that there are no other claims on the estate. It’s ridiculous and time consuming.

I don’t know how the OH hasn’t started punching people with the amount of red tape involved. sigh

It’s been a week since my father in law died, and he still hasn’t been laid to rest. It took exactly 4 days to bury my own father after his passing. Four days. I can understand the weather being a factor here, but burial of the living by paperwork is a burden no one should have to go through when grieving.

I’m sure everyone has their own experience of this sad rite of passage. Why can’t they make it easier, not more complicated than it has to be?