It’s been hard to get my thoughts into order this week, a week that has been longer than it seems and we’re only Thursday. The reason being, my father in law was taken into hospital on Sunday and, as of right now, is being kept in on end of life care at this point.

It’s looking like this may be his last few weeks (or even, days) given the state of his cancer, which has metastasised to, well, everywhere. My partner quite naturally, is back and forth to the hospital while trying to work in between. Every one is stressed to the point of breaking but doing their best to hold it all together.

Somehow everyone is hoping things will improve, while experience of what my own father went through has taught me that’s not possible. Thus, this weekend might be our last with him. I wish it were otherwise, while silently praying he doesn’t suffer longer than he has to.