This morning I had to take the bus to go run errands and pick up some fresh produce at my favourite Halle. When I got to my stop I made to get out the bus but found my way blocked by a determine young woman who wanted to get on the bus.

Get on the bus without paying.

At first I was confused and asked her what she thought she was doing. Then, realising exactly what it was she was doing, I put out both arms to block her fraudulent entry to the bus. The look I got could have started world war three. And then … it happened.

I was assaulted. In as much she physically shoved me so that I took a step backwards and as I did so, she stepped past me swearing at me. I was more than startled. I was shocked at being pushed and that she actually went so far as to lay hands on me.

And the whole time this is going on, no one, not one person watching the scene unfold, came to my side, spoke up, or did anything. NOT. A. THING. They simply sat there and watched as she took a seat.

Let me point out. She was wearing an iWatch and carrying an iPhone. So obviously had enough money to pay the $3+ bus fare. But she chose not to. Just as half the bus occupants chose to do nothing. Like it was an everyday thing.

Me? I chose to step off the bus rather than further confront someone willing to resort to violence. I just stood on the sidewalk watching the bus depart wondering what else I could have done anyway, under the circumstances. And just why no one cared enough to get involved.

I don’t want to think that this is the kind of world we now live in, and that this is an every day event. I want to hope that there are still enough decent people out there, and that they just were not on the bus when this happened.

I live in hope.


Note: to clarify as there has been some confusion. The bus in question was a long caterpillar bus where riders enter at the drivers position to show their ticket/pass/phone to prove they are entitled to ride the bus. Because of the length of the bus, there are two (2) exits. One in the middle of the bus and one at the end. The woman boarded the bus at the rear exit, where there is a sign saying it is an exit only. She then proceeded to take a seat and made no attempt to show the driver her ticket to ride.