Normally I can read an average length book in 2-3 days. But the book I started right after finishing a really good read has, to put it mildly, become tedious. I don’t know if I should have left it a few days before starting this new one, or if it’s actually that the book is just not a great read to begin with.

The writing comes across flat and the description, well, are all rather dull and even, unnecessary. While the main character herself is, I’m guessing, what everyone loves to call an unreliable narrator. My least favourite type. Throw in the fact I find her absolutely odious and, well, I was gonna say we have a problem but, the truth is, it’s me, I have a problem.

Do I leave off for the weekend and try again Monday, or do I give in this early on and DNF it?

It’s annoying because the last 3 books I’ve read have been great. I’ve really enjoyed everything about each read, from the tone of voice, characters, and snappy dialogue to the settings.

I guess I’m no longer taking recommendations. I obviously have a different idea as to what constitutes a good read, these days. And while it’s obvious we all like different things, my tastes don’t seem to align much with a lot of what people are recommending.

Maybe I need a good Sarah Paretsky or another Louise Penny read … yeah, maybe that’s the answer.