I should be sat here writing up my Week Notes #16 but, really, I don’t think anyone wants me ramble on about who took my father in law to which appointment, where. And that we’ve all been running around sharing driving duties, amongst other things. Or that we’ve instigated a group chat to keep up with who needs to be where and when. But hey, look, that’s exactly what I’m doing because I need to spill my spleen before I choke on my own bile.

Add to that it was a long weekend as my in laws live outside of the city, 30 minutes drive away. So, that yesterday, when we got a tired call from the mother in law saying she’d called an ambulance, we knew it was going to be another long night. Which it was.

The OH took all the text messages that went back and forth through out the night. But still, we were both awake most of the night doing vigil with everyone else as there was nothing else we could do.

My father in law is being released back into family care but, as far as I’m concerned this is stupid, he really needs 24 hour care at the moment. None of which any of us can give him, least of all my mother in law who is 85!

With so many people refusing to wear a mask and cut down on covid, the hospital system is over capacity and, people like my father in law are not getting the help and treatment they deserve. Ask me if I’m angry? You bet the (delete swearword) I am. But what the hell else can we do but our best?

Please, please take care of yourselves and while you’re at it, please take a moment to stop and think of others.