Last week is a really difficult week to unpack with all that’s happening to my extended family, what with my father in law’s cancer diagnosis. As such, he starts his first full week of treatment, today, with us all hoping that the aggressive plan will, in the end, provide positive results. We’re orangising for the long haul, and hoping for the best.

As with any potential long-term illness, we’re rallying around and trying to plan for any kind of eventuality. Which has meant a lot of long phone calls every evening. Having been through this all before, with my own father, I know what to expect and that’s to expect the unexpected. Life sure loves to throw a lot of curve balls. Especially as my father in law’s diagnosis is not the only bad news we had last week. My OH’s aunt also spent a night in the ER after her heart almost stopped beating.

The upshot there is, she’s going in for surgery to have a pacemaker fitted in the next couple of weeks. She’s 85, which brings with it its own set of problems and worries.

🍿 Aside from all the family matters, me and mine haven’t really done much else but sit in from of the one-eyed monster of an evening, and try to watch movies as a distraction. We’ve watched:

  • The Dressmaker ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • True Grit ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Oz The Great And Powerful ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Meanwhile, another Monday, another week, and here's hoping everyone has a good one.